Our Session

Nine members, elected by the congregation and ordained as Ruling Elders, are responsible for governing the congregation and guiding its Christian witness. Session members serve three-year terms.

Current Session Members

(End of members’ three-year terms are listed in parentheses.)

Left: Pastor Kimberly Chastain; Associate Pastor Becky Kindig.

Top row, left to right: 

Clerk of Session Cynthia Burger

George Cummings (6/2021) — Property

Sally Hunt (6/2022) — Communications

Doug Jones (2/2021) — Spiritual Formation

Lou McKeage (6/2022) — Finance; Spiritual Formation

Bottom row, left to right:

Allison Nyamuame (6/2021) — Deacons Ministry

Kathy Preston (2/2021) — Personnel; Property

Suzie Northrop Raboy (2/2021) — Worship & Music

Bill Sands (6/2022) — Property

Aaron Whitney (6/2021) — Deacons Ministry; Mission & Outreach

(Note: In May 2020, the terms of three elders were extended from 6/2020 to 2/2021, since the June annual meeting was canceled due to the pandemic.)

Our Ministry Teams

The work of the Session is divided amongst several Teams.

  • Communications
  • Deacons Ministry
  • Finance & Investments
  • Mission & Outreach
  • Personnel
  • Property
  • Spiritual Formation
  • Worship & Music

All Teams are appointed by and accountable to the Session. Each Team has a Session member to serve as liaison or chairperson. Orientation/training is provided for Team members as new people become involved in the work of our congregation. Each year, Teams prepare a proposed Team budget with designated line items.

Our annual Congregational Activity Report highlights the work being done by all of the teams. (Download PDF)

Sunday Worship @ 10:00am

The United Presbyterian Church

42 Chenango Street

Binghamton, NY 13901

Ph: 607.722.4219

roundedemail office@upcbgm.org

roundedfacebook  UPCBinghamton